### The First Meeting Minutes of the Public Art Committee

City Hall, room 204

2:00pm

May 18, 2017

### In Attendance:

- Councillor Linda Stevenson
- Ross Tucker
- Laura Woermke, Chair
- Elizabeth Bourque
- Dang Ho
- Sherri Howard
- Dave White
- April Gazda, Secretary

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

Ross Tucker facilitated the first meeting proceedings.

#### Welcome

Ross welcomed the members to the 1st meeting of the Public Art Committee.

Minutes will be recorded for Council and Committee members. Each set of minutes will be approved at the following meeting and then forwarded to the Clerk's Department.

#### **Introductions**

Ross – nice wide range of knowledge and background forming this Committee.

## Public Art Policy & Terms of Reference

The Committee was given a copy of the draft Public Art Policy and will review for the next meeting.

The Committee discussed terms of reference and communication (emails, con-calls, face to face) protocol between Members. Would like goal and objectives.

Ross – The Committee will work on the Terms of Reference over the next few meetings.

## Mandate of Committee

The Committee discussed the 'scope' of the Committee in regards to objectives, required outcomes, goals (short/long term), priorities and required initiatives.

Councillor Stevenson – we need to develop a work plan and decide what is the priority.

Ross and April to contact John Laverty to discuss items that may be acquired by the City.

#### Public Art

The Committee discussed issues with Public Art on City property, road allowances etc., implementation and logistics – will look to develop Appendices.

### Elect a Chair Person

The Committee discussed structure - chair.

Councillor Stevenson nominated Laura Woermke as Chair.

Confirmed by Chair\_\_\_\_\_\_1

Motion by Dave White – Dan Ho:

THAT: Laura Woermke be appointed Chair of the Public Art Committee.

Carried.

# **NEXT MEETING**

Meetings will take place the second Tuesday of every month, room 204 City Hall.

# <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Motion by Elizabeth Bourque – Sherri Howard:

THAT: The meeting be adjourned at 3:02 pm.

Carried.

# **Contact Information**

# Committee Members

Councillor Linda Stevenson <u>Istevenson@stthomas.ca</u>

Laura Woermke, Chair <a href="mailto:lwoermke@stepac.ca">lwoermke@stepac.ca</a>

Elizabeth Bourque <u>rbourquen@hotmail.com</u>

Dang Ho <u>dang.ho@hotmail.com</u>

Sherri Howard <u>showard@stepac.ca</u>

Dave White <u>dwhite@stthomas.ca</u>

## Staff Resource

Ross Tucker <u>rtucker@stthomas.ca</u>

April Gazda <u>agazda@stthomas.ca</u>

Confirmed by Chair\_\_\_\_\_2